Sunday, December 20, 2009

Maleficent's Castle Includes a WDCC First!

Deep in the Forbidden Mountains stands Maleficent’s ominous fortress. Guarded by goons and surrounded by craggy peaks, this forbidding castle is the scary site of both fearsome plotting and sinister celebration.

Castle includes a sound clip with music and narration, a Walt Disney Classics Collection first! The music and narration are from the digitally remastered Sleeping Beauty film sequence which introduces Maleficent's Castle. The narration goes as follows:

"For everyone knew that as long as Maleficent's domain, the Forbidden Mountains, thundered with her wrath and frustration, her evil prophecy had not yet been fulfilled..." [thunder and lightning]

Pressing a button on the hardwood base, this sound clip starts playing (approx. 23 seconds) and LED lights within the castle flash to replicate lightning. Powered by 3 AA batteries (not included).

Maleficent's Castle ("Forbidden Fortress"), concept designed by Larry Nikolai is a Numbered Limited Edition (NLE) of 500 and scheduled for an April, 2010 release.


Matthew said...

What an amazing design and super cool! The lights and sound are icing on the cake!

I'm so glad that the WDCC has released this piece and hope that they continue to issue more enchanted places (!) in the future!

Duckman said...


Very much like the design of this sculpt and intrigued by the sound clip. Definitely one I'm interested in seeing in person.

Great companion piece to the Event Maleficent, Disneyana Dragon or the recently released Maleficent/Transformation sculpture.

Since the return of the Enchanted Places, though they've officially not been called that, they haven't seemed to gone over too well given how collectors for some time voiced wanting to see their return. Hopefully this one will do well and we'll see future releases.

Gregory said...

A must have for me!

Herc said...

This one is way too cool. Cannot wait to get this one. I agree that some form of Enchanted Places should return. I've purchased what has come out so I've done my part. Now I'm here to sell it to the masses. Buy them!! And while you're at it, buy the Silly Symphony pieces. They are way too great to pass up.